Embed from Getty Images


Ke’Bryan Hayes has won the Gold Glove for National League third basemen. This shouldn’t come as a surprise considering that he has been the best third baseman in the National League pretty much since he made his debut. This is, however, the first time that he has been recognized as such. Ending Nolan Arenado‘s ten-year run of receiving the coveted award.

Hayes’ win ends Cardinals third baseman Nolan Arenado’s streak of 10 straight Gold Glove Awards, which was tied with Ichiro Suzuki for the most to begin an MLB career.

Arenado defeated Hayes for the award in 2022 despite Pittsburgh’s third baseman having a better defensive rating than Arenado per FanGraphs (16.8 vs. 15.1), a better fielding run value than Arenado (14 vs. 11), more defensive runs saved than Arenado (24 vs. 19) and more outs above average than Arenado (18 vs. 14).

The sentiment among Pirates fans was summed up by manager Derek Shelton when pitchers and catchers reported to Spring Training in 2023: “Disappointed. Frustrated. I think [Hayes] should have won it.”

This is a well-deserved honor for Hayes. Throughout his career, his defense has been incredible. He has had periods where he has struggled with the bat, but his defensive skill has never been lacking. He did finally put together a sustained period of great hitting to close out the 2023 season. If he is able to build on that coming into next season, it will go a very long way in helping this team take another big step forward. This is Hayes’s second major award for the 2023 season. A couple of weeks ago, he was awarded the Fielding Bible Awards Defensive Player of the Year.

He will have a chance to add to his awards on Friday at the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony when they will announce the winner of the Platinum Glove Award. The Platinum Glove has also been won by Arenado in the previous six years for the National League. The Platinum Glove is awarded to one Gold Glove winner from each league (American League and National League) and is determined by fan vote. You can cast your vote for Ke’Bryan Hayes to win the Platinum Glove this year here.

One response to “Ke’Bryan Hayes Wins Gold Glove”

  1. Platinum Glove vote has been cast. #VoteEarly #VoteOften

Leave a Reply


WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com