Last night was the 66th annual Rawlings Gold Glove Award Ceremony. The winners of the Gold Glove Award had already been announced, but the hardware wasn’t given out until last night’s ceremony. The winners of the fan votes for the Platinum Glove were also announced.

The Platinum Glove winners were Fernando Tatis Jr. for the National League and Andrés Giménez for the American League. The winners are determined by fan voting with all Gold Glove winners in each league being eligible.

I’ve seen a lot of people on social media claiming that Ke’Bryan Hayes was snubbed. I get the sentiment. I definitely agree that Hayes is the best defensive player in the National League. The position he plays is far tougher than the one Tatis Jr. plays. This is just the nature of having an award that is determined by fan voting, though. I don’t doubt that Pirates fans are capable of generating enough noise to sway the vote in his favor, and this certainly won’t be their last opportunity to do so.

Hayes won a Gold Glove this season and was also Fielding Bible’s Defensive Player of the Year. He is certainly starting to get the recognition that he deserves for his play. Fans outside of Pittsburgh will start taking note which will help with future Platinum Glove voting.

This was the thirteenth year that the Platinum Glove has been awarded, and Tatis Jr. is just the fifth different player to get the honor in the National League. Nolan Arenado has won the award six times and Yadier Molina has won it four times. The other two National League winners were Andrelton Simmons and Anthony Rizzo.

Leave a Reply


WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :